Ayodhya ram mandir

Ayodhya ram mandir History, Timings, Route Info, Darshan and Puja

It was mentioned in the Valmiki Ramayana that Prajapathi Manu Son of Lord Brahma built the Ayodhya City. Ayodhya also called as Saketha Pura. This temple is located on the banks of River Sarayu. Ram Ghat is popular among the Ghats on the River Bank. It is also believed that King Dasaratha performed Aswamedha Yagna on the River Bank. Lord Sri Rama made Ayodhya as the Capital and ruled the Kingdom.

From the history, it is known that Babar destroyed Ram Mandir and built the Mosque. Hindus regained access to Ayodhya during the reign of Akbar and Jahangir. Aurangzeb after getting into power demolished the temple and built the huge mosque.

Ayodhya Ram Mandir Timings

 Morning HoursEvening Hours
Summer7:00 am – 11:00 am2:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Winter7:00 am – 11:00 am2:00 pm – 6:00 pm


It is said that Ayodhya had 5 temples

  1. Vishnu Hari temple at the Chakratirtha ghat.
  2. Harismriti temple at the Gopratara ghat.
  3. Chandra Hari temple on the west side of the Svargadwara ghat
  4. Dharma Hari temple on the east side of the Svargadwara ghat.
  5. Vishnu temple at the Ram Janmabhoomi site.

It is said that Sarayu river flood water swept one of the temples. Harismiriti temple is unknown. The remaining three temples were destroyed and mosques were built on top of them.

Temples nearby

  1. Naganatha Mandir, Dedicated to Lord Siva.
  2. Kale Ram Mandir: It is believed to be the first temple in Ayodhya.
  3. Kanak Bhavan
  4. Laxman Mandir
  5. Ram Janki mandir

How to reach Ayodhya ram mandir?

By Air

  1. The nearest airport is at Faizabad which is 8 Km away.
  2. Lucknow airport is 150 Km away

By Train

  1. The nearest railway station is at Faizabad which is 8 km away.
  2. Faizabad is well connected with major cities across the country.

By Road

  1. The direct bus is available from Lucknow, Agra and other major cities to Ayodhya.

Reference Link: details