Tirumala Seven Hills

The detailed description of Tirumala Seven Hills Naming

Vrushabadri Hill – Hill of Nandi

The first hill is known as Vrushabadri. In Kruthayuga, near Thumbura Theertha in Tirumala there lived a demon named Vrushabhasura who was a devotee of Lord Siva. As he was an asura, he had the inborn demonic quality in him and he used to daily cut his head and offer the same to Lord. By Lord Siva’s grace, he would immediately get back his head. When Lord Siva graced him and asked him to choose any boon, he said that he wanted to have a fight with Lord Siva. Lord Siva granted his wish and the fight between the devotee and the Lord Siva continued for many days. Finally, Vrushabhasura was defeated. But Before dying as a mark of his attaining salvation at this place he asked Lord Siva to name this hill by his name. So this hill is called by his name as Vrushabadri.

Anjanadri – Hill of Lord Hanuman

Anjanadri Hill one of the Tirumala Seven Hills – Hanuman Statue marks Anjanadri

Kesari, the king of Vanaras (monkeys), married Anjanadri. They were childless for many years. So Anjanadri went to a hill near Akasa Ganga and did penance for several years. Later Vayu (wind god) gave fruit to Anjanadri. As a result of eating that fruit given by Vayu, she gave birth to Lord Hanuman. As Anjanadri did penance on this hill it is called as Anjanadri.

Neeladri – Hill of Neela Devi

Nila Devi (or Neela Devi) is the third consort of Lord Vishnu, the other two being Sri Devi and Bhu Devi. In Paramapadam (Sri Vaikuntham) Sri Devi is seated to the right of the Lord, and Bhu Devi and Nila Devi to His left. The Veda sings the glory of Goddess Nila in Nila Suktam.
The first devotee who gave her hair to god is Neela Devi. Lord Srinivasa named this hill by her name as Neeladri. When Lord Srinivasa was hit by a Shepard on his head, a small portion of his scalp becomes bald. There is no hair growth over that place and this was noticed by Gandharva princess, Neeladevi. She felt such a handsome face should not have any defect. Immediately she cuts a portion of her hair and implants it on his scalp with her powers. As hair is considered as the beautiful aspect of women, Lord Srinivasa notices her sacrifice and he said all the hair given to him by devotees in Tirupati belongs to Neeladevi. Giving our hair to god is the symbol of leaving our ego. The word “Talanelalu” is also came from her name.

Garudadri – Hill of Garuda, the Vahana of Lord Vishnu

Tirumala Seven Hills – Garuda Rock Marks Garudadri

As we all know Garuthmantha (Vahana of Lord Vishnu) killed his cousins (Kadruvas children, snakes). After killing the snakes to wash away the sin, he started praying for Lord Vishnu. Lord Vishnu was pleased by his prayers and came before Garuthmantha. Garuthmantha asked Lord Vishnu to allow him to come back to Vaikuntam. Lord Vishnu said he will be coming as a Swayambu on the Seven Hills and asked him to stay there in the form of a hill. This hill is called by his name as Garudadri.

Seshadri  – Hill of Sesha, The dasa of Lord Vishnu

Most important peak among the Saptagiris is Seshadri. Seshadri is named after Adishesa, divine Serpent on whom Lord Vishnu rests. There is a story behind this hill. During Dwapara Yuga, Vayu (wind god) reached Vaikuntam to visit Lord Vishnu. Adisesha did not allow him inside as Lord Vishnu was taking rest with his consort Lakshmi Devi. Vayu was not ready to go back without visiting Lord Vishnu, and they started to argue with each other. Lord Vishnu himself came to them, but they still continued the argument, that one is better than the other. Finally Lord Vishnu said Adishesa should hold the Anadha Shikara, one of the peaks of Meru Mountain and Vayu should try to blow off Adishesa from Meru Mountain.

Naraynadri – Hill of Narayana (Vishnu)

Narayanadri Hill one of the Tirumala Seven Hills

Narayana Maharshi wanted to do Penance to see Lord Vishnu. He asked Lord Brahma to show a appropriate place where there won’t be any disturbances for his Penance. Lord Brahma showed him a place where he did Penance for Lord Vishnu. Lord Vishnu was pleased by his prayers, appeared before Maharshi. Narayana Maharshi asked Lord Vishnu to give a boon so that the hill will be popular by his name. So this hill is called by his name as Narayanadri.

Venkatadri  – Hill of Lord Venkateswara

Tirumala Seven Hills – Last Peak where Lord Malayappa Resides

Lord Srinivasa resides on this Hill. The sacred temple of Sri Venkateshwara is located on the seventh peak, Venkatadri, and lies on the southern banks of Sri Swami Pushkarini.

For any queries on Tirumala Seven Hills, please leave your comment below


  1. I’m extremely inspired with your writing abilities as smartly
    as with the layout to your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize
    it your self? Anyway stay up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to look a great weblog like this one nowadays..