Mysore Palace

Mysore Palace Timings, History, Entry Fees

Mysore Palace History

This historical palace also called Amba Palace. Wodeyars who ruled the region from 1399 AD to 1950 AD built this place in 14th century AD. In the year 1610 AD, Wodeyars shifted the capital from Mysore to Srirangapatnam, however, Mysore Palace remained the official residence. A Lightning struck the palace and damaged partially in 1638 AD. The then King Raja Wodeyar II did the repair work.

In 1700 AD Century, When Tippu Sultan got into power, demolished the palace and used the material to construct a fort at Nazarabad. When Tippu Sultan lost the battle to the Britishers in 1799 AD, Britishers destroyed the Tippu’s palace at Nazarabad and used the fort material to built the palace at Mysore in 1803 AD and reinitiated Krishnaraja Wodeyar III as the ruler of Mysore.  In 1897, the major portion of the palace got burnt during a wedding ceremony of the Princess Jayalakshmanni. The present form of the Palace was built in 1912 AD by the British architect Henry Irwin and it cost 4.5 Million Rupees during that time. The fort will be lighted with 97000 electric bulbs daily.

Mysore Palace Timings

Palace remains open on all days.

Opening Timings: 10:00 am – 5:30 pm

Palace Lighting Time: 7:00 pm – 7:45 pm. Lighting will not be available during Sun and Public Holidays.

For more details Please Call @ +91 85000 85151

Mysore Palace Entry fees

S.NoPersonTicket cost
1Adult (18 and above)Rs.40
2Children under 10 yearsFree Entry
3Children (10 – 18 years)Rs.20
4Educational TourRs.10 per child

How to reach Mysore Palace?

By Air

  1. The nearest airport is at Mangalore which is 109 km away. Bangalore airport is 173 km away.

By Train

  1. The direct train is available from all parts of Karnataka state to Mysore.  Trains run with high frequency from Bangalore to Mysore.

By Road

  1. Mysore is well connected with all parts of the state and neighbouring states.

Places Images Gallery

Reference Link: History

Mysore Palace

User Rating: Be the first one !