Khajuraho Temples

Khajuraho Temples

Khajuraho Temples History, Timings, Route info

Khajuraho Temples History

These group of temples were constructed on high platforms. Khajuraho Temples are divided into 3 groups ie. Western Group, Eastern Group and Southern Group. It is said that there supposed to be 85 temples but now it is 25. These temples lost its glory around 1500 AD after the invasion.

Western Group Temples

Kandariya Mahadev, Lakshmana Temple, Chaunsath Yogini, Chitragupta Temple, Vishwanath Temple, Matageshwar Temple and Varah Temple.

Eastern Group Temples

Parshvanath Temple, Ghantai Temple, Aadinath Temple and Shantinath Temple.

Southern Group Temples

Duladev Temple, Chaturbhuj Temple and Bija Mandal etc.


Famous Khajuraho Temples List

Vishwanath Temple

This temple is dedicated to Lord Siva and was built in the 11th Century by Chandellas. This temple is located between Lakshmana and Kandariya Temples.

Lakshmana Temple

This temple was built by the King Yasovarman during 930 – 950 AD. This temple is dedicated to Lord Vishnu.

Jagadamba Temple

This temple was built during 1002 – 102 AD by the King Ganda. This temple is situated in the Western Group and is southwest of Vishwanatha Temple.

Kandariya Temple

The height of Shikara is 100 ft. Inside Temple walls were carved with Thousands of Idols. This temple was built during 1025 – 1050 AD. This temple is dedicated to Lord Siva. This is largest of all the temples with 31 mt tall Garbha Griha.

Chaunsat Yogini Temple

This is the ancient temple.

Chitragupta Temple

This temple resembles Jagadamba Temple construction style.


Idol of Parshvanath was installed in 1860 AD.


Entry fees

Entry for Ticket Cost details
Adult Rs.30 Indian
Adult Rs.500 Foreigner
Children (under 15 years) Free All

Timings: Sunrise to Sunset

Guide Charges

No.Of persons Half day Full day
1-5 Rs.1368 Rs.1734
6-14 Rs.1734 Rs.2236
15-40 Rs.2300 Rs.3012


Language Allowance

No.Of persons Half day Full day
1-14 Rs.547 Rs.730
15-40 Rs.592 Rs.913

Reference Link: details

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.