Aihole temple

Aihole temple History, Timings, Route Info

As per the Legend, Parasurama an incarnation of Lord Vishnu washed his weapon in the river here after the war against Kshatriyas. The river water turned Red with the blood stains.

These group of temples were built on the bank of River Malaprabha during 5th and 8th Centuries. Eastern Chalukyas made Aihole as their capital during the 6th century. These temples received huge contributions from Pulakasin I during 535 -566 AD and Pulakasin II during 610 – 642 AD. These temples were later renovated during the reign of Vikramaditya I  (655 – 681 AD).

Famous Aihole Temple List

Durga Temple

Dedicated to Goddess Durga was built during the reign of Chalukyas in 7th and 8th Century AD. Thes temple architecture reflects Dravidian construction style.

Ladh Khan Temple

This temple was built during the reign of Chalukyas which later conquered by the Muslim ruler who made this as his residence.

Meguti Temple

This temple was built by Ravikeerti a chieftain in Pulakesin II court. This Jain temple was built in 634 AD in Dravidian construction style.

Ravanphadi Cave

From the inscriptions, it is known that this temple was built in 6th century during the reign of Eastern Chalukyas.

Hucchimalli Temple

This temple was built in 7th Century AD. There are shrines for Lord Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva.

Gowda Temple

This temple is dedicated to Goddess Bhagavathi and was built in the 12th century.

Suryanarayana Temple and Konti group of temples

These temples were built in the 7th century.

How to reach Aihole Temple?

By Air

The nearest domestic airport is Belgaum which is 189 km away.

By Rail

The nearest railway station is Bagalkot which is 34 km away.

By Road

Aihole is 14 km from Badami. The direct bus available from Badami to Aihole.

Reference Link:  details