Naimisaranyam Temple History, Timings, Divya Desam, and Tourist places

Naimisaranyam Temple History, Timings, Divya Desam, and Tourist places

Similar offerings are made to the ancestors at Naimisaranyam as well, and it is thought that doing so will bestow great blessings on the devotees.
It is thought that offerings given in the Divya Desam bestow upon the recipient immeasurable blessings, as is the case with all Divya kshetras. The thing that makes Naimisaranya unique is that planting a tree is considered to be the best present one can give in this kshetra, or a Vruksha dhana.

Naimisaranyam Temple History

It is believed that Sounaka and other Maharishis once asked Brahma where the ideal location was for performing yaga, dhana, and tapas. Then Brahma picked up a darba grass that was close by, rolled it into a wheel, and released it. He claimed that the best location for Yaga performances would be where this wheel travels and stops. It is said that the wheel rolled onto Earth and arrived at what is today known as Naimisaranyam.

It is believed that Sukar Maharishi lived here and delivered his Vedic lectures. There is a temple dedicated to Sukar Maharishi in a particular area of this town called Purana Mandir, which serves as confirmed evidence for this even now. There is a bronze statue of Sukar in that temple that resembles a parrot. Sukar used to be able to wander around with the neighborhood kids quite easily when he was younger. During a hunting trip, Parikshat Maharaja visited the area one day and quickly recognized Sukar. He had a throne made of precious stones, called a Ratna Simhasana, sent there right away. He put Sukha on it and requested that the child advise him on how to achieve moksha. Sukha then advised the king to perform tapas within that particular kshetra and told him that Druva performed tapas in Naimisaranyam, where he was able to obtain Dhruva padham (mandalam) and gain the blessings of Sriman Narayana. Manu Chakravarti became the ruler of Ayodhya in this kshetra by performing tapas on the banks of the Gomati River.

Additionally, it is thought that Sri Rama carried out ten Aswameda yagas here.
Once upon a time, Naimisaranya welcomed Daksha Prajapati.
Except for Rudra, all the rishis stood to greet him. Only Rudra remained seated. It is believed that this angered Daksha Prajapati, so when the king carried out a yaga, he did not give Rudra any share of the havis.

Naimisaranyam Temple Timings

  • 5 a.m to 12 p.m
  • 4 p.m to 9 p.m
  • The temple remains closed from 12 p.m. to 4 p.m

Chakra Tirtha Naimisaranya

Nemi is the source word for chakra. Since the Nemi, or chakra, landed in this aranya (forest), the location was named Naimisaranyam. Thus, the kshetra’s original name was Naimism. There was a deep pit there when the chakra fell. Water flowed out of the pit, which later became the sacred tank known as Chakra Theertha because the chakra, or wheel, lay there. It is thought that bathing in this kshetra will confer the same benefits as bathing in Kurukshetra during the eclipse period.

Moksha is thought to be achieved by taking a bath in this Chakra Theertha.
Furthermore, it is said that bathing in this chakra theertha for 30 days is the same as bathing in all 108 of Divya Desam’s theerthas.

Vyas Gaddi Naimisharanya

It is thought that Veda Vyasa split the Vedas into four halves when he arrived in Naimisaranya. It is commonly known that Brahma once lost the Vedas to a demon by the name of Hayagriva. Brahma experienced a loss of vision. After going to pray to Lord Narayana, he received an assurance that the Vedas would be restored. He declared that Parasara Maharshi and Satyavati would have a son who would be the amsam of Narayana himself. He would also restore the Vedas and divide them into four sections, assuming the name Vedavyasa from then on. Thus, in due course, Vedavyasa was born and arrived in Naimisaranyam during his pilgrimage. As the Lord had promised, he brought the Vedas back and divided them into four sections. With great joy, Brahma and the other gods bestowed blessings upon Vedavyasa. It is said that Vedavyasa composed the Mahabharata, the Bhagavata, and the eighteen Puranas here.

There is still a Vedavyasa temple in a location known as Vyasaghat (cave), which is close to the Gomukhi River.

Naimisaranya Forest

It is believed that God is in the form of the forest here. It is still believed that this is one of the 108 sacred Divya Desams. The main deity is referred to as Devaraja. Pundareekavalli and Sri Harilakshmi are the names of the consorts. Chakra theertha, Gomukhi river, Nemi river, and Divya Visranta theertha are the theerthas. Sri Hari Vimanam is the name of the Vimana. Tapovanam is the sthala viruksha. It is thought that Indra, Sudharma, Devarishi Suta Puranika, and Veda Vyasa’s prayers caused God to manifest.

One of the eight Svayam Vyaktha kshetras is thought to be this one.
Srirangam, Srimushnam, Tirupati, Salagramam, Thothadri (Vanamamalai), Pushkaram, Badri, and Naimisaranyam are the Svayam Vyaktha kshetras. As previously mentioned, this location is also known as Tapovana. Nine Tapovanas are as follows: Badarikaranyam, Gurujangalaranyam, Arputharanyam, Jambukaranyam, Pushkararanyam, Dandakaranya, and Naimisaranyam. It is believed that this Naimisaranya Tapovanam is a very sacred forest.

Hanuman Garhi Naimisharanya

There is a small mountain near the Sukha Maharishi shrine. A Hanuman temple is located atop the peak. The location is called Hanuman Ghat. The image of Hanuman standing in that temple is shown carrying Lakshmana and Rama on his two shoulders. People refer to the huge idol as Visvaroopa Anjaneya.

How do I reach Naimisaranyam Temple?

For a visit to this location, use the Calcutta-Dehradun line and get off at Palamav junction. One must board a different train that travels to Sitapur and get off at Naimisaranya station after getting off at Palamav junction. The town and the train station are separated by roughly two miles.